Blue Bulls u/21 Deservedly Crowned 2019 Champions

(Photo Credit: JJ Vorster/

The Blue Bulls u/21 deservedly won the 2019 SARU u/21 Championship after dominating Western Province in the second half to overturn a 3-20 deficit at the end of the first half, to win 33-27.

Western Province lead 20-3 at halftime outscoring the Blue Bulls with two tries to nil at the end of the first half. However, at this stage of the game, there was no clear winner despite the margin between the teams on the scoreboard.

The Blue Bulls reverted to typical final rugby and clawed back 10 points in the first 20 minutes of the second half to trail 13-20. With ten minutes left on the clock, the Bulls retook the lead 23-20 after yet another converted penalty.

Although Western Province scored a final try after the hooter the Bulls Bulls did enough to secure a 33-27 win.

Blue Bulls: Tries: Stephan Smit, Gershwin Mouton, Carl Els. Conversions: Theo Boshoff (3). Penalties: Theo Boshoff (3). Drop Goal: Theo Boshoff.
Western Province: Tries: Shaine Orderson, Vusile Dlepu, Gift Dlamini. Conversions: David Coetzer (3). Penalties: David Coetzer (2).